Health Update

On Dec. 4, 2014, I found out that I have a cancerous mass in my colon. Ever since then I have been flooded with emotions.

I want to use WordPress to connect with family and friends during this difficult time. I will keep you up-to-date with journal entries and hope to get messages of love and hope through the comments.

The past week has gone by fast as I’ve gotten a CT Scan, lots of lab work done, flexible sigmoidoscopy exam, met with an Oncologist and Colon Surgeon. After viewing my full body CT scan, the doctors also saw a suspicious area on my liver and want to further exam it; hoping the cancer did not spread there. An MRI would preferably be scheduled before the surgery, but I am waiting to hear back if I can be squeezed in.

On Friday I met with the surgeon and have set a date to remove the cancerous section of my colon; Dec 18th. Recovery time will be 2-5days in the hospital and I can’t lift anything over ten pounds for six weeks. This will be very difficult caring for my daughter Harper (11months) which has been my full time job.

Thank you for all your thoughts and prayers.

10 thoughts on “Health Update

  1. Wow, a lot to handle isn’t it? But since my diagnosis on Sept 9, I have found attitude is everything. Just put one foot in front of another and keep going! I had three tumors masticize on my liver and some on my lungs, so they did chemo first, and surgery will be after. Hang in there and if there is anything you want talk about….I am here, just a few months ahead of you. Hugs!

  2. Diana, I am so sorry you have to go through this. I’ll be cheering you on the whole way. Draw courage from your strong spirit, your amazing husband, and your faith. Please let us know how we can help. Much love, my friend, and best wishes.

  3. Diana,
    This news broke my heart. I’m praying for you and your family. Could you share the name of the hospital you’ll be at? Liam and I would love to visit you, if you’re up to it.
    We also look forward to helping in any way we can during your recovery.
    -Melissa

  4. Love you Diana. Thank you for sharing with us. Please let me know if we can help with out Harps. Or if you want visitors in the hospital.

  5. Diana, I will be praying for you, your family and your team of doctors. You will get through this and be an even stronger person because of it. If you need anything please don’t hesitate to ask.

Leave a Reply

