A New Year! 2015

Over the past week I’ve been staying at home, having friends stop by almost every day. I’m moving around a lot more, but still need to take it easy (and nap at least once daily). I stop using the abdominal binder, I seem to be healing fast.

My daughter, Harper, has been heathy and just got her live vaccination of the Measles, Mumps, Rubella and Varicella. This was very important to get as soon as possible so it wouldn’t interfere with my health. Once I start chemotherapy my immune system will be low.

I’m applying Young Living Essential Oils on my feet and belly daily. The oils Frankincense and Valor are recommended for helping fight cancer. I love the smell of these oils.

Jason, Harper and my mom and I stayed up to ring in the New Year together. We are looking forward to a happy and healthy 2015!

Tomorrow I will meet with the oncologist at Overlake to plan my chemotherapy. The doctor has given me a week to review the two options he suggests. I am anxious to start treatment.

This is a good quote, “Worry is like a rocking chair, it will give you something to do, but it won’t get you anywhere.” Calm My Anxious Heart by, Linda Dillow

6 thoughts on “A New Year! 2015

  1. Hi Diana, and greetings from a fellow colon cancer survivor. Yes, I said survivor, cuz you’re going to get through this. I was stage 3, but I still went thru chemo for six months. It’s not fun, I won’t try to pretty it up for you, but it’s ok. If you have the same stuff I did (5FU) some of the side effects are weird. Drinking or eating anything cold will feel like swallowing ice shards. I wasn’t able to touch cold things either, so maybe get a cheap pair of gloves that you can use around the house or when you go out to keep it a little more comfortable. I also developed neuropathy in my hands and feet, lots of numbness and tingling with some pain. It made me a bit clumsy, I dropped a few dishes, so just be aware especially with your baby girl!

    May I ask how old you are? You seem really young for this. I was 39 at the time of my diagnosis. What kind of symptoms did you have? Anyway, I found your gofundme page and while I can’t give you any support there, maybe I can give you some advice or answer questions based on my own experience. You will get thru this, you will be there to see your baby grow up and graduate from high school and all those wonderful things yet to come. Ok? God bless you.

    1. Hello! Thanks for reaching out. So happy to hear you beat colon cancer! I am 32yrs old. I had symptoms back in Oct 2013 of blood in my stool. Since I was pregnant at the time, I ignored it. I sought out a gastro doctor in Nov 2014; it’s been a whirl wind since then.

      I would love your advice, thanks for telling me about your side effects.

    1. Great to speak with you yesterday and love the quote from the book. Keep focussed on getting well again and remember just how much your loved. xx

Leave a Reply

