Port A Cath Procedure Complete

Thursday at 4 AM I was restless, tossing and turing in bed. I was anxious for the procedure. I couldn’t sleep anymore and was ready for Dawne to drive me to the hospital.

I arrived at the hospital at 7am, had a nurse prep me and then I waited until 9am. I was then rolled out to the operating room. The staff was friendly and asked what style of music I wanted to listen to, so we were jamm’n to reggae. After a few doses of medication, I was asleep before the surgeon came in.

The port was successfully installed. I’m feeling very sore today, it hurts to lift my right arm.

Next weeks activities; final check up with the surgeon who operated on my colon, and my first dose of chemotherapy.

IMG_4238.JPG

IMG_4235.JPG

8 thoughts on “Port A Cath Procedure Complete

  1. Blessings to you today for your first chemotherapy. I am Jennifer’s friend and have known Jason since he was a little guy. I’m also an oncology infusion nurse. So I am here for support or questions. Your beliefs, positive attitude, and love for your family is a huge part in this journey of survival. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

      1. They can give you a prescription for Emla Cream, put it on 1.5 hours before any appt that you need to have it accessed. Use a quarter size amount, cover with some seal and stick (seran wrap). Works well.

  2. Diana,
    I think of you every day, and pray for a speedy recovery. I’m sending a hug and kiss. Love you very much!
    Tammy

  3. Ouch! That looks sore darling and I hope that two days on it’s less sore now. Keep on reading that book with your mom – that’s what skype is for. xx

Leave a Reply

