Chemotherapy #5 

Since my last post, I’ve had a meeting with a UW liver surgeon and had dose number five of chemo. 
My appointment at UW was at 7:30am where I first met with a medical resident who gathered all the facts about my condition and then presented it to the board of liver surgeons. There they discussed possible options. I waited around UW for three and a half hours while they met with about ten other patients and then had the meeting discussing everyone’s case.  All of the patients had one thing in common, to get medical advice regarding their liver cancer.

Around 11:30am I was called in and talked to the liver surgeon and the resident. I learned that I should continue chemo and come back after my next set of CT and MRI scans. If the spots in my liver stay the same, there would need to be two separate surgeries. This would be considered a high risk surgery,  I would be left with a very small liver. For the first time, I have a better understanding where my lesions are located. Below is a pic of it. Without even asking the question, the surgeon said I have AT LEAST 5 years to live. Thanks Doc. He also said since the cancer traveled via blood stream, this cancer will be a chronic battle. 

The chemotherapy went well. I order a sub sandwich from Jimmy Johns online and had it delivered to my chemo chair. That was pretty awesome! I did a great job masking the taste of the ‘flush’  from my port with the help from Sour Patch Kids and plugging my nose.  I did throw up my lunch at 11pm that night; coincidently I threw up at that same time last chemo. This better not be pattern.  

April is the last month my family and I will be receiving meals from friends and family. It has been so helpful, I’ve been using the time and energy that I would be cooking, to focus on myself; spiritually, mentally and physically. 

The Side Effects: The mouth sores have been manageable. The one thing I did differently was chew on ice cubes during chemo. This was a tip the nurses gave me. I think I will do that again next round. My weight is back to normal, my hair is thinning and breaking on my head, my eyelashes are slowly disappearing, the cuts on my hands/feet have been minimal this dose and I’ve been dealing with uncomfortable colon issues for a few weeks. 

I’ve been reading the book In A Pit with a Lion On a Snowy Day, by Mark Batterson. I love it. I am connecting and relating to it. Here is a quote from it, “Adversity is often the seedbed of opportunity. Bad circumstances have a way of bringing the best out of us. Wild lions make valiant warriors just like rough seas make great sailors. Adversity is often a blessing in disguise.” For me, I feel I enjoy life more since I understand my mortality. I thank God for every day I get here on earth. 

Next Up:
-Chemotherapy Wednesday April 22nd (Earth Day) 


With Love,

Diana XO


 

As you can see, the largest lesion is on the top right.
 

 Edit 
Harper and I
  

3 thoughts on “Chemotherapy #5 

  1. Hello, Diana! I don’t know you …. I know your mom, however, and am incredibly thankful for her. I believe you and our daughter, Erika Buch, attended West High School together. I pray for you almost every day …. for God’s grace and peace to rule your heart, and for total healing. I so appreciate your courage and strength, your sense of humor, and your ability to trust the Lord throughout these trials. You’re an inspiration to me and to countless others. God is using you for blessing and His glory, and I have no doubt He will honor you tremendously. Your spirit is truly amazing. I’d love to meet you one day. Becky Buch

Leave a Reply

