Pre-Liver Surgery

I am feeling great! I haven’t been able to say that honestly, since Nov 2014. I still have stage four cancer, but it’s not as frightening anymore. I am basically reborn, taking control of my heath & life and not looking back.

I wouldn’t be here without the support of all my friends and family who have helped make this easier on me. Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!

Tomorrow morning (aka Friday) I will be going to UW for liver surgery where they will laparoscopically target as many lesions as they can, safely. The procedure will start at 10:30am and will take 3-4 hours. The Surgeon confirmed that he can treat 3 of 5 lesions. This was new news to me, last time he said he could treat 4 of 5. I was aware that one of them is resting by two main veins, which would be damaging if treated. Now, the Surgeon said that one of them is located in a spot where he would have to enter through my back rib. If this is a fact, we would leave it alone and possibly schedule another surgery at a later date.

If all goes well during surgery, I will stay in the hospital one night, possibly two. The recovery time will take about 6-8weeks. During this time I can’t do any heavy lifting. This will be difficult because I have a 21 month old toddler who loves to be picked up (from the pictures below you can see, she is attached to my hip). Thankfully one of my sisters will be generously helping me out again.

Another big help is having meals made for my family. My friend Amy has created a meal signup sheet through the website ‘Take Them A Meal’. As of right now there are two spots left; one for Oct 4th and Oct 6th, please contact me if you would like the link.

With Love,

Diana XO

Mom's are amazing! I wished mine lived closer. Pictured: My mom, Harper & I
Mom’s are amazing! I wished mine lived closer. Pictured: My Mom, Harper & I
My first time at Lambeau Field! Greenbay, WI Pictured: Jason & Diana
My first time at Lambeau Field! Greenbay, WI Pictured: Jason & Diana
still rocking my plant based diet that is dairy-free, gluten free, wheat free, meat free, GMO free and sugar free diet. Pictured: Sandi & Diana
still rocking my plant based diet that is dairy-free, gluten free, wheat free, meat free, GMO free and sugar free diet. Pictured: Sandi & Diana
Spending time in Wisconsin visiting w/family. Pictured: my Dad, Harper & I
Spending time in Wisconsin visiting w/family. Pictured: my Dad, Harper & I
Diana & Harper at "MaeMae's" wedding
Diana & Harper at “MaeMae’s” wedding

One thought on “Pre-Liver Surgery

Leave a comment